Broker-Dealer Agent Registration
Broker-dealer agents are individuals who are registered to sell securities on behalf of a registered broker-dealer. It is unlawful for a broker-dealer to employ an agent in Kentucky unless that person is registered under the provisions of Kentucky Revised Statutes (KRS) 292.330.
To register as a broker-dealer agent, or to transfer a registration, submit a Form U-4 - Uniform Application for Securities Industry Registration or Transfer to the CRD system along with a $50 registration fee. Mark Kentucky under the “Jurisdictions” section of the form.
Broker-dealer agents must pass either the Series 63 or Series 66 examination, in addition to the applicable Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) exam(s). To enroll in or to get study materials for these exams, call FINRA at (301) 590-6500.
DFI will charge a transfer fee of $50 per agent for mass transfers, unless waived for good cause shown. Any request for such a waiver must be submitted in writing, addressed to the DFI commissioner at least 30 days before the scheduled transfer.
The renewal fee is $50 per agent, which is paid through the CRD system.
Dual approval is required if the broker-dealer agent is to be an agent for two firms. Refer to 808 KAR 10:030, Section 6. Each firm must submit the request for dual registration, on separate, signed letterhead.
To terminate an agent registration, file a Form U-5 with the CRD within a reasonable period of time (not to exceed 30 days) after the termination of employment.
For More Information
Contact Leslee Wilson at (502) 782-9056 with questions about broker-dealer agent registration requirements.